2017 Innovation and Excellence Awards

“Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world; indeed, it’s the only thing that ever has.”

– Margaret Mead

The National Alliance to End Homelessness is pleased to introduce the Innovation & Excellence Awards, to honor outstanding leaders who are creating better and more effective programs and systems to end homelessness in their community. These awards recognize organizations that are developing new best practices or exploring new approaches to serving their homelessness population, and those which run programs of the highest quality, to create real results in the effort to end homelessness in their community.

We are honored to announce the 2017 Innovation and Excellence award winners:

Category of Innovation

Los Angeles County Homeless Initiative; Los Angeles County, CA

Category of Excellence

Central City Concern; Portland, OR
Oxford Street Shelter; Portland, ME

Read the Full Press Release!


2017 Awards Ceremony Honorary Committee

Senator Angus King
Senator Patrick Leahy

Congressman Earl Blumenauer
Congresswoman Suzanne Bonamici
Congressman Michael Capuano
Congresswoman Anna G. Eshoo
Congressman Jimmy Gomez
Congresswoman Colleen Hanabusa
Congressman French Hill
Congressman Alan Lowenthal

Congresswoman Grace Meng
Congresswoman Chellie Pingree
Congresswoman Lucille Roybal-Allard
Congresswoman Linda T. Sanchez
Congressman John Shimkus
Congressman Albio Sires
Congresswoman Dina Titus
Congressman Paul D. Tonko



Mr. and Mrs. Alexander Boyle
Mr. and Mrs. James A. Baker III
AFL-CIO Housing Investment Trust

Gold Sponsors

Gary and Kathleen Parsons
Mr. and Mrs. Robert Villency

Silver Sponsors

Karen and Ralph Craft
The Nielsen Foundation
Business Roundtable
Paladin Capital Group

Bronze Sponsors


Tim and Monica Marx
Faith Realty
Nan Roman and Tom Bobak
AFL-CIO Investment Trust Corporation
Perkins Coie LLP
Mr. Robert Stillman

Additional Sponsors

Barbara Poppe and Bill Faith
Calibre CPA Group, PLLC
Groom Law Group
Bob and Jeanne Gayler
Henry G. Cisneros
Children’s Defense Fund